New Beginnings!

Hi. And welcome to my blog.

Technically, this is new beginnings 3.0 for me. About three years ago, in the year I like to refer to as ‘The Year of Existential Crisis’, I set up a blog which I used on-and-off before and throughout my University years. In that time, I feel like I have changed a lot and after many re-shuffles of my old blog (including a post titled ‘New Beginnings 2.0’) and much consideration, I decided that it was about time to leave my old blog behind and set up a new one! And so, I guess, here we are.

I suppose there are a number of reasons for this change, the biggest being that within the next few months, I will progress from Undergraduate to Graduate and be the proud owner of an English Language and Creative Writing degree. I currently have no immediate plans for further study and so in a few months I guess that’ll make me a – dare I say it – an adult *shudders*. Or at least a bit closer to being one. For a while, I couldn’t quite identify why I wasn’t feeling the vibe of my old blog. But I think finishing University is the reason. I’m no longer the existential crisis kid I was when I started my old blog. I’m a 21 year old woman with a different outlook on the future. Yes, going out into the real world is scary but for the first time in my life, I’m excited to see what challenges are ahead. And, quite frankly, I’m a little bit glad about the prospect of potentially never having to write an assignment or sit an exam ever again!

So, I guess I should give you a brief rundown about me before I sign off the first post of my new blog. My name is Em (unfortunately ’emilytwentysomething’ had a far better ring to it than ’emtwentysomething’). I’m 21, live in the UK and have recently completed my studies in English Language and Creative Writing at University. I’m into writing short stories (I would perhaps like to get some of my fiction up on this blog – something I never really managed on my old one!), baking and am a bit of a book, film and TV nerd, so you can expect some blog posts about that I’d imagine sometime in the future. I don’t have a schedule in place for regular blog posts, tending to write more when I feel like I want and need to, but will try to write at least once a week.

And there you have it: a brief background of the origins of this blog! I hope you enjoy this potential whirlwind that will be the next chapter of my life.


‘Chances are most of your best memories are still ahead of you.’ – Anthony Padilla. 

Leave a Reply

